Dessert, · Uncategorized

Marble Cake

There are these things called love languages, which are essentially how a person gives and receives love. I receive love by quality time, I give love by gift giving. A few weeks in (and by a few a mean maybe two) I met a dear friend who had a birthday coming up, and my first reaction was ask if I could make her a cake. She was quiet taken by surprise at the offer considering we have hardly known each other but it was my way of showing I wanted to be her friend. She asked for a marble cake and here’s what I did.

16806680_10212168036665058_8937095078952256030_n

 

This recipe comes courtesy of ‘BBC Good Foods’.

  • 225 g butter
  • 225 g caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 225 g self rising flour
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp   cocoa powder ( I added an extra third because I love chocolate)
  • a pinch of salt.

Instructions-

Preheat oven to 180/190 C. Grease two sandwich pans.  Combine sugar and butter until fluffy, and add eggs and beat one at a time. Add milk and vanilla. Slowly add self rising flour, and beat until combined. Sprinkle salt and fold in. Separate half the batter into another bowl.

abchoc_flourlessmarblecake_xlg

  •  Add cocoa powder and fold in. 2 tbsp at a time drop vanilla batter and chocolate batter into the pans. Once all the batter has been used up take a tooth pick or knife and drag around to create a marble effect. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until you press the center and it bounces back.

I wrapped these up and put them in the freezer for a day, however they cool quite quick, and then decorated them.

I didn’t really use a buttercream recipe because it’s something I can make in my sleep! I started with about 300 g of unsalted butter (very important for it to be unsalted) added milk, vanilla extract, and icing sugar until I reached the consistency and flavor I wanted!

Thinking now a chocolate butter cream recipe would be great, if you prefer chocolate, (if I was making it for myself this what I would have done)

And this is the final result! I didn’t bring much from home other than clothes, but I did bring my pipping tools. I’m proud to add this one to the collection, it’s not my best but for what I had I think I did well!

16804475_10212208254230472_5986091365891897366_o

Word count:390

Photo Credit:

finecooking.com

Leave a Reply

